Elderly women exercising

Find A Class Near You

Online
OR

Showing 20 results for all classes sorted by date

Don't see a desired class near you? More classes are coming soon. Call us at 1-800-620-6036 or email info@healthylivingforme.org to be connected to a representative and added to our waiting list.

Living Well for Better Health

June 16, 2022 - July 21, 2022
9:00 AM - 11:30 AM

Caribou Wellness Center

Cost: $0
Class Leaders: Cindy Blanchette, Jann Jackson

Contact Name: Cindy Blanchette
Contact Phone: 207-498-1634

Thursday, June 16, 2022 9:00 AM - 11:30 AM
Thursday, June 23, 2022 9:00 AM - 11:30 AM
Thursday, June 30, 2022 9:00 AM - 11:30 AM
Thursday, July 7, 2022 9:00 AM - 11:30 AM
Thursday, July 14, 2022 9:00 AM - 11:30 AM
Thursday, July 21, 2022 9:00 AM - 11:30 AM

This program is designed to help participants deal with chronic conditions. Topics include: techniques to deal with frustration, fatigue, pain and isolation, appropriate exercise for maintaining and improving strength, flexibility, and endurance, appropriate use of medications, communicating effectively with family, friends, and health professionals, nutrition, and how to evaluate new treatments.

Register

Living Well with Chronic Pain

June 16, 2022 - July 21, 2022
9:30 AM - 12:00 PM

Alfond Youth and Community Center

Cost: $0
Class Leader: Vicki Foster

Contact Name: Melissa Emmons
Contact Phone: 207-626-7350

Thursday, June 16, 2022 9:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, June 23, 2022 9:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, June 30, 2022 9:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, July 7, 2022 9:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, July 14, 2022 9:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, July 21, 2022 9:30 AM - 12:00 PM

This class is designed for people who have a diagnosis of chronic pain, offering strategies for dealing with their symptoms. Topics include: techniques to deal with frustration, fatigue, isolation, and poor sleep, appropriate exercise for maintaining and improving strength, appropriate use of medications, communicating effectively with family, friends, and health professionals, nutrition, pacing activity and rest, and how to evaluate new treatments.

Notes:
This class is created in partnership with MaineGeneral's Peter Alfond Prevention & Healthy Living Center and is being held at the Alfond Youth and Community Center. A class leader will call participants 1-2 weeks prior to the start of class to confi [. . .]

Register

Living Well with HIV+

June 16, 2022 - July 21, 2022
1:30 PM - 4:00 PM

Online


Cost: $0
Class Leaders: Jennifer Fortin, Jen Paquet

Contact Name: Jen Paquet
Contact Phone: (207) 620-1642

Thursday, June 16, 2022 1:30 PM - 4:00 PM
Thursday, June 23, 2022 1:30 PM - 4:00 PM
Thursday, June 30, 2022 1:30 PM - 4:00 PM
Thursday, July 7, 2022 1:30 PM - 4:00 PM
Thursday, July 14, 2022 1:30 PM - 4:00 PM
Thursday, July 21, 2022 1:30 PM - 4:00 PM

This program was designed for individuals managing HIV and their caregivers/natural supports. Topics include: medication management, techniques to deal with frustration, fear, fatigue, pain and isolation, communicating effectively with family, friends, and health professionals, sex, intimacy, and disclosure, nutrition, evaluating symptoms, advanced directives, and decision-making. Program participants make weekly action plans, share experiences, and help each other solve problems they encounter in creating and carrying out their self-management program.

Register

Living Well for Better Health

June 22, 2022 - July 27, 2022
4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Mt. Ararat High School

Cost: $0
Class Leaders: Jen Paquet, Michelle Rich

Contact Name: Jen Paquet
Contact Phone: (207) 620-1642

Wednesday, June 22, 2022 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM
Wednesday, June 29, 2022 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM
Wednesday, July 6, 2022 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM
Wednesday, July 13, 2022 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM
Wednesday, July 20, 2022 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM
Wednesday, July 27, 2022 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

This program is designed to help participants deal with chronic conditions. Topics include: techniques to deal with frustration, fatigue, pain and isolation, appropriate exercise for maintaining and improving strength, flexibility, and endurance, appropriate use of medications, communicating effectively with family, friends, and health professionals, nutrition, and how to evaluate new treatments.

Notes:
This workshop is provided by Spectrum Generations, a Healthy Living for ME partner.

Register

Tai Chi for Health and Balance

July 11, 2022 - September 19, 2022
9:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Richmond Area Senior Center

Cost: $45
Class Leader: Jen Paquet

Contact Name: Jen Paquet
Contact Phone: (207) 620-1642

Monday, July 11, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Wednesday, July 13, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Monday, July 18, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Wednesday, July 20, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Monday, July 25, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Wednesday, July 27, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Monday, August 1, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Wednesday, August 3, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Monday, August 8, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Wednesday, August 10, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Monday, August 15, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Monday, August 22, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Wednesday, August 24, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Monday, August 29, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Wednesday, August 31, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Wednesday, September 7, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Monday, September 12, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Wednesday, September 14, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Monday, September 19, 2022 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Tai Chi is an enjoyable exercise that can improve balance, relieve pain, and improve health and ability to do things. It is a slow exercise. It is easy to learn and good for all ability levels. The essential principles of Tai Chi include mind and body integration, fluid movements, controlled breathing and mental concentration. Tai Chi is one of the most effective exercises for the health of mind and body. It helps people to relax and feel better.

Register

A Matter of Balance

August 02, 2022 - August 25, 2022
5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Mt. Ararat High School

Cost: $0
Class Leader: Jen Paquet

Contact Name: Jen Paquet
Contact Phone: (207) 620-1642

Tuesday, August 2, 2022 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Thursday, August 4, 2022 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday, August 9, 2022 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Thursday, August 11, 2022 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Thursday, August 18, 2022 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday, August 23, 2022 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Thursday, August 25, 2022 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

A Matter of Balance emphasizes practical strategies to reduce fear of falling and increase activity levels. Participants learn to view falls and fear of falling as controllable, set realistic goals to increase activity, change their environment to reduce fall risk factors, and exercise to increase strength and balance.

Notes:
This workshop is provided by Spectrum Generations, a Healthy Living for ME partner.

Register

Living Well with Diabetes

August 25, 2022 - September 29, 2022
1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

Cohen Community Center

Cost: $0
Class Leaders: Jen Paquet, Libby Matthews

Contact Name: Jen Paquet
Contact Phone: (207) 620-1642

Thursday, August 25, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, September 1, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, September 8, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, September 15, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, September 22, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, September 29, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

Living Well with Diabetes is designed to help people with type 2 diabetes learn how to live well. Topics include: techniques to deal with the symptoms of diabetes, fatigue, pain, hyper/hypoglycemia, stress, depression, anger, fear and frustration; appropriate exercise for maintaining and improving strength and endurance; healthy eating, appropriate use of medication; and working with healthcare providers.

Notes:
This program is provided by Spectrum Generations, a Healthy Living for ME partner.

Register

A Matter of Balance

August 29, 2022 - September 26, 2022
2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Cost: $0
Class Leader: Jen Paquet

Contact Name: Jen Paquet
Contact Phone: (207) 620-1642

Monday, August 29, 2022 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday, August 31, 2022 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday, September 7, 2022 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Monday, September 12, 2022 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday, September 14, 2022 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Monday, September 19, 2022 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday, September 21, 2022 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Monday, September 26, 2022 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

A Matter of Balance emphasizes practical strategies to reduce fear of falling and increase activity levels. Participants learn to view falls and fear of falling as controllable, set realistic goals to increase activity, change their environment to reduce fall risk factors, and exercise to increase strength and balance.

Notes:
This workshop is open to residents of the Kennebec Plaza, and is provided by Spectrum Generations, a Healthy Living for ME partner.

Register

Living Well with HIV+

November 08, 2022 - December 13, 2022
10:00 AM - 12:30 PM

Online


Cost: $0
Class Leaders: Jennifer Fortin, Jen Paquet

Contact Name: Jen Paquet
Contact Phone: (207) 620-1642

Tuesday, November 8, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Tuesday, November 15, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Tuesday, November 22, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Tuesday, November 29, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Tuesday, December 6, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Tuesday, December 13, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM

This program was designed for individuals managing HIV and their caregivers/natural supports. Topics include: medication management, techniques to deal with frustration, fear, fatigue, pain and isolation, communicating effectively with family, friends, and health professionals, sex, intimacy, and disclosure, nutrition, evaluating symptoms, advanced directives, and decision-making. Program participants make weekly action plans, share experiences, and help each other solve problems they encounter in creating and carrying out their self-management program.

Register

Living Well with Chronic Pain

January 10, 2023 - February 14, 2023
1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

Cost: $0
Class Leader: Jen Paquet

Contact Name: Jen Paquet
Contact Phone: (207) 620-1642

Tuesday, January 10, 2023 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday, January 17, 2023 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday, January 24, 2023 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday, January 31, 2023 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday, February 14, 2023 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

This class is designed for people who have a diagnosis of chronic pain, offering strategies for dealing with their symptoms. Topics include: techniques to deal with frustration, fatigue, isolation, and poor sleep, appropriate exercise for maintaining and improving strength, appropriate use of medications, communicating effectively with family, friends, and health professionals, nutrition, pacing activity and rest, and how to evaluate new treatments.

Notes:
This workshop is open to residents of the Kennebec Plaza, and is provided by Spectrum Generations, a Healthy Living for ME partner.

Register
Previous 1 | 2 Next